Resurrection Pass Trail – Hope, Alaska

March 27, 2016

  

I couldn’t think of a more appropriate trail to hike on Easter Sunday than the Resurrection Pass Trail! I accessed the trail from the north trailhead in Hope, Alaska. This trail parallels Resurrection Creek (pictured above), and is part of Chugach National Forest. 

  

This trail is 39 miles long, but I only hiked four miles in to the trail, until I reached the first campsite. The trail was very easy to follow and fairly flat. There were some slick spots where the snow and ice had not yet melted, however I would say this is an easy trail to hike. This has been the first hike that I have been able to wear my regular hiking shoes without any cleats!

 

There were moose tracks along the entire length of the trail (the portion that I hiked anyway), but I did not see any moose today. I did have a close call with a porcupine, but thankfully he was also scared of me and made his way up a tree (cruddy picture below). 
 

Since I am not much for camping, I will likely try this trail again from the South trailhead. Happy Easter! 

  

For more information I found the following websites helpful:

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

2 thoughts on “Resurrection Pass Trail – Hope, Alaska

Leave a Reply

