Lazy Mountain – Palmer, Alaska

April 1, 2016

  

At the Lazy Mountain Recreation Area, there are three trailheads: Lazy Mountain Trail, Lazy Moose Mountain Trail, and the Morgan Horse Trail. I chose the Lazy Moose Mountain Trail, as this one is supposedly less steep than the Lazy Mountain Trail. 

This trail was very muddy, and I ended up putting on my Kahtoolas (for some extra traction) before I even reached the snowy part of the trail. The trail made a gradual incline (switch-backing) until it met up with the Lazy Mountain Trail. The two trails meet up near the end in order to reach the summit. This part of the trail was very steep and icy. 

  

There were moose tracks and droppings along the entire length of this trail, however I did not see any moose during my hike. 

  

I came very close but was unable to reach the summit on this one because a storm was headed toward me, and I was very nervous about getting back down this trail in wet conditions, given that the trail was already steep and slippery. 

I will likely hike this trail again a little later in the spring after some more snow has melting off. 

For more information I found the following websites useful:

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

Leave a Reply

