McHugh Creek – Anchorage, Alaska

April 6, 2016

Today I planned on hiking McHugh Lake Trail, but actually took a wrong turn (turned right off of the trailhead) and ended up of Turnagain Arm Trail at McHugh Creek. BEST mess up EVER!

  
I came across this guy right off the trail! There is bridge over this creek and I wished I would have been videoing the runners coming across the bridge and getting startled when they saw this guy! This seems to be a fairly flat trail system and there were lots of trail runners out today. 

 
 
I watched him for a while, but tried to keep my distance as he made me a little nervous. 
 

I accessed both of these trails from the McHugh Creek Trailhead. Parking is $5 unless you have an Alaska state parks annual parking pass. The McHugh Creek trailhead Y’s to the right to Turnagain Arm Trail which leads to Rainbow Trail, and to the left to Potter Creek Trail. The McHugh Lake Trail branches off of the Potter Creek Trail, not far from the McHugh Creek Trailhead. So I needed to take a left at the Y, instead of the right that took me to the moose. I hiked about 1.5 miles up this trail before reaching an unfortunate sign (pictured below). 

  
I’m not exactly sure if the real trail was closed, or if this was referring to what looked like another trail that people have made in order to get a better picture of this view. Either way, I didn’t have time to complete the ~12 miles of this trail tonight, so I went ahead and turned around. This trail is on my bucket list for trails to complete on a weekend when I have more time and after I find out if the trail is closed.

For the 1.5 miles of this trail that I completed (3 miles round trip), I would rate this part of the trail as easy. This trail wasn’t too steep and after finding the trail, it was easy to follow. I can’t wait to see what’s further up this trail!

For more information, I found the following websites helpful: 

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

One thought on “McHugh Creek – Anchorage, Alaska

Leave a Reply

