Little O’Malley Peak Trail – Anchorage, Alaska

April 8, 2016

  
The Little O’Malley Peak Trail trailhead starts at the Glen Alps/Flattop Mountain Parking lot. This is another trail in the Chugach Mountains that requires a $5 parking fee or a annual parking pass. The trail itself was well traveled, however there were no signs marking the trail so a map and a compass came in very handy for this trail.  I hiked a total of about 4 miles in a little under 3 hours. 

  
The trail starts off fairly flat and then becomes very steep. I am not sure who rates these trails, but I would NEVER call this an “easy” trail. 
  
The hike up to the ridge pictured above was very steep. In my opinion, the best views were actually not from the summit (summit pictured below) but from the ridge up to the summit (pictured above). 

  
  
“What goes up, must come down.” I donned my snowpants, sat down on the ground, and let gravity bring me down this mountain!

  
 
For more information I found the following websites helpful:

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

  

Leave a Reply

