Harp Mountain – Eagle River, Alaska

April 19, 2016

This will be short and not-so-sweet. The trail to Harp Mountain summit is a 2600′ climb straight up the mountain in 1.5 miles. The trail itself was a mix of snow and rocks. There were cold 30 mph winds, and I do not ever plan on hiking this trail again πŸ™…πŸ½

  

This trail is not marked on the Chugach State Park trails map, and the trailhead is also not marked. If I wouldn’t have been with people who knew this trail, I would have never found the trailhead. 

  
I wanted to give up several times, but I pushed through and summited! 

 
For more information I found the following website helpful:

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

2 thoughts on “Harp Mountain – Eagle River, Alaska

  1. There is not much need for a well marked trailhead, as it starts on someone’s private property, and last time I went they had makeshift signs that pointed to what was Chugach State Park property and what was private property (those signs may have fallen off or had been torn down since I was last there in September). Don’t write this trail off just yet! I highly recommend trying this again sometime in the summer on a nice day. It is steep, yes, but it is very easy travelling in non-snowy conditions. πŸ™‚ Great pics, I love the view from up there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

