Rainbow Peak – Anchorage, Alaska

April 29, 2016

The hike to Rainbow Peak is a 3534′ climb in a little over 2 miles. From the parking lot, I hiked about a half mile along Turnagain Arm Trail until reaching the trail for Rainbow Peak, which is marked with a post. There is another trail at the Rainbow parking lot, but I have no clue as to where that trail goes. I anticipate that I will try that trail another day. 

The first mile is in the woods, and the trail was a little hard to follow. I often found myself trying to figure out which was the actual trail, and which were animal paths. The trail does cross Rainbow Creek (pictured below) once while in the woods.  

Every once in a while, there is a beautiful view of Turnagain Arm, while hiking in the woods. As always, the view of Turnagain Arm was beautiful.  

Once I got out of the woods, it is a straight climb up the mountain. There isn’t necessarily a trail from this point on, or maybe there is and I just couldn’t see it. I found myself staying to the left of the ridge for some relief from the 30 mph winds. 

It is starting to LOOK like spring on Turnagain Arm, as the forget-me-nots are blooming! It however felt more like winter (winter to someone who has been living in the Southeast) from the summit, as it snowed a little and  the winds were chilling. 

I forgot my gloves in the vehicle on this hike, but my extra pair of socks worked great to keep my hands warm-ish from the wind. 

My Buff also started as a headband for this hike and ended up as a mask towards the summit. 

From the summit, there were other great views of Turnagain Arm (pictures below).

The hike down, in my opinion, was more difficult than the hike up. There were lots of loose rocks, and I have some colorful bruises and scrapes from falling… a few times. This has been the first trail I have hiked this year where I did not have to step on any snow!

I loved this hike, but my legs still have not yet fully recovered. 

For more information I found the following websites helpful:

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

2 thoughts on “Rainbow Peak – Anchorage, Alaska

Leave a Reply

