Matanuska Glacier – Sutton, AK

May 7, 2016

The Matanuska Glacier is 27 miles long and 4 miles wide. I have been waiting impatiently for the snow to melt so that I could hike to this one. 

It is $25 to access the glacier, and we did a guided hike for another $75. In my opinion, the guided hike was worth it for the educational piece and also to learn the safety of hiking on the glacier. 

There wasn’t anything difficult about hiking around this glacier, and Kahtoolas worked just fine for extra traction. 

Pictures do not even compare to the real life experience of hiking around this glacier. 

This has been one best adventures I have gone on in Alaska so far! 

Now that I have learned the basics, I can not wait to explore this glacier some more! 


For more information I found the following websites helpful: 

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

3 thoughts on “Matanuska Glacier – Sutton, AK

Leave a Reply

