King Salmon fishing – Homer, Alaska

May 29, 2016

I headed down to Homer for Memorial Day weekend to attempt King Salmon fishing for the first time! Even though I left home without a fish, I AM HOOKED (pun intended)! This type of fishing is much different than the other fishing I have done in the past in the “Lower 48” (from a boat, from a bank, bowfishing, noodling). 

A one-year fishing license is a pricey $140 for an out-of-state resident in Alaska, and a King Salmon stamp is an additional $100. Thankfully I purchased the one-year license as I did not fill my tag this weekend. 

Round 1: No beginners luck, but I am starting to get the hang of it

Round 2: Still no luck, but I am enjoying every minute of this

Day 3: Physically exhausted and my hands have never been so sore. I am going to have to work on my fishing stamina. 

I may have left empty handed, but this was an learning experience that I can not wait to try again! 

After a long day of fishing, we headed in to Homer for some “duck fart” shots from the Salty Dawg Saloon. 

The drive back to Anchorage from Homer was also worth mentioning. The Kenai Lake (pictured below) is stunning, and the drive along the Russian River makes the drive seem a little shorter. 

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

One thought on “King Salmon fishing – Homer, Alaska

Leave a Reply

