Williwaw Lakes Trail – Anchorage, Alaska

September 17, 2016

There are a few different ways to get to Williwaw Lakes. The trails that I hiked included five different trails (Glen Alps Trailhead > Powerline Trail > Middle Fork Loop Trail > Williwaw Lakes Trail > Ballpark Trail > Powerline Trail > Glen Alps Trailhead). 


This was a 10 mile loop and the first 6 miles were a little muddy but very easy hiking. The Ballpark trail was pretty difficult in a couple of sections, but is hiking after getting down from O’Malley ridge. 


The weather started out slightly raining and very cloudy. 


As I headed through the valley, the skies cleared up to a beautiful day. So far, Fall in Alaska has been very YELLOW. Although yellow is my favorite color, I am missing the colorful Midwest Fall. 


The view of Williwaw Lakes were the best (in my opinion) from higher up the Ballpark Trail (pictured below). This was the when the trail started gaining some elevation. 


The next lake that I came to was Black Lake. There was no question as to how this lake got its name. 


The hike up to “the Ballpark” was a little challenging and little scary, but it actually looked worse than it was. I would NEVER do this hike in the reverse direction because of the steepness and loose rock. 


After coming down from the O’Malley ridge, the rest of the trail was easy hiking. This was a great hike, but again, I would never hike this in the reverse direction. I plan to hike the Glen Alps > Poweline > Middle Fork Loop > Williwaw Lakes during the winter season, however I will leave the Ballpark Trail out of the winter hike. 
For more information I found the following websites helpful: 

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

One thought on “Williwaw Lakes Trail – Anchorage, Alaska

Leave a Reply

