Upper Winner Creek Trail – Girdwood, Alaska

October 1-2, 2016

This was my first overnight hike and hunt (goat) since living in Alaska and I LOVED it! I hiked the Lower Winner Creek Trail earlier in the spring, but this was a much different hike. Both trails start at the Winner Creek Trailhead behind the Alyeska Hotel. After about 1.5 miles the trail splits in the the Upper Winner Creek Trail and the Lower Winner Creek Trail. We started this trail on bicycles (the first ~0.75 miles you must push the bike because bikes are not allowed). I did NOT do well this whole mountain biking deal (I had one crash where I ended up on the ground on my back with my bike on top of me), and I think I’ll stick to hiking on my feet in the future. 

When I think of Alaska, I do not think of rainforests. The the first few miles of this hike is through a beautiful rainforest. On our way back, we had a little scare with a mamma black bear in the forest. 

Thankfully she chose to follow her cub instead of charge at us. 

After the rainforest the trail opened up to an alpine tundra valley, and the long and gradual climb to Berry Pass continued. Berry Pass had so many beautiful tarns and large blueberries. I absolutely loved this pass as I am obsessed with mountain water for some reason. 


We set up base camp towards the middle of Berry Pass…

…with a great view of the mountains. 

After setting up camp, we continued through the valley towards Twenty-Mile Glacier and Twenty-Mile River for the mountain goat search. 

We passed many more tarns along the way šŸ˜. 

We didn’t see any goats, but we have plans to attempt this hunt again. Next time, we plan to hike all the way to Twenty-Mile River and packraft back out to the highway instead of hiking back on the trail. It is also rumored that there are plans for this trail to be extended to the highway in the future. 

We used OnXmaps ROAM app again to track this hike. We hiked a total of  24.69 miles this weekend. 

For more information I found the following websites helpful:

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

One thought on “Upper Winner Creek Trail – Girdwood, Alaska

Leave a Reply

