Chugach Hillside Trails – Anchorage, Alaska

October 4, 2016

I had the intentions of hiking a short loop trail from Upper O’Malley Trailhead (Gasline Trail > Hemlock Knob > Blueberry Hollow > White Spruce > Gasline back to the trailhead), however I took a wrong turn about doubled my hike. Instead, I hiked Gasline > Hemlock Knob > Blueberry Hollow >South Fork Rim > Panorama View > Gasline > Upper O’Malley Trailhead. This was one of those times when the ROAM app would have saved me from an hour mistake. Needless to say, I now have the app on my own phone!


The trail system was not my type of hiking, but overall it was a nice system. Each trail didn’t offer much of a change in scenery, but it was very easy hiking.


These trails made me a little nervous for a bear encounter, but a few moose where the only wildlife I spotted. 


There were a few spots where the trail opened up to some better views… 


…but I wouldn’t put these trails on my list of places to hike again. 


For more information I found the following websites helpful:

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

Leave a Reply

