Lake Hood Seaplane Base – Anchorage, Alaska

November 3, 2016

This fall and winter, I had the intentions of catching up on all the sleep I missed during the spring and summer. Now that the Northern Lights are showing back up in Anchorage, I am starting to think that I may actually get less sleep! I can not stop looking out my bedroom window all night long. 


The Aurora Borealis came out last night, so I drove over the Lake Hood for some more scenic pictures (my residence doesn’t offer much scenery to the north). 

I am still learning how to use my camera’s manual settings, so I missed capturing the lights at their brightest opportunity. 


Look close in the picture above for the Big Dipper!


Since my hiking will continue to slow down from the lack of daylight, I am glad I have found a new hobby that I can enjoy in the dark! 

For more information I found the following websites helpful:

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

Leave a Reply

