Harding Icefield Trail – Kenai Fjords National Park – Seward, Alaska

July 30, 2017

The Harding Icefield Trail was incredible, and the National Park Service has done another great job at maintaining a trail.👏 👏 The trail begins at the Exit Glacier Nature Center in Seward, Alaska. I previously made the short hike out to Exit Glacier, but the Harding Icefield Trail offers a much different view of Exit Glacier and at a much more difficult expense.

The trail ends with a great view of Harding Icefield (pictured below). Harding Icefield is made up of 38 different glaciers, up to 2000-feet deep, and has an entire mountain range below the ice. The peaks sticking up through the ice are called "Nunataks."

A wonderful surprise happened at the end of the trail, when two goats came trotting up the mountain. Boy was I glad I brought my zoom lens!

Overall this trail wasn't too difficult, and I would definitely add this trail to my list of favorite hikes!

For additional information I found the following websites helpful:

For more about the trail to Exit Glacier, please refer to my previous post.

This blog is simply a log of my personal experiences. It is not a travel guide, a trail guide, any other sort of a guide, and it is not intended to give information for replication.

Leave a Reply

